ARTICLE

85THANNIVERSARY OF THE INDIAN SCIENCE NEWS ASSOCIATION

RAJINDER SINGH, SUPRAKASH C. ROY

The scientific and political elites of Kolkata like P.C. Ray, M.N. Saha, P.C. Mahalanobis, S.K. Mitra, D.M. Bose, P.C. Mitter, U.N. Brahmachari, Netaji Subash Chandra Bose and Shayma Prasad Mookerjee, were behind the formation of The Indian Science News Association. In July this year Indian Science News Association (ISNA) stepped into its 85th birth anniversary. This article is our attempt to pen down a brief history of ISNA which began its journey in July 1935. With the help of Minutes of the Council of ISNA, Annual Reports and other reports, we describe a short history of its formation, activities and its struggle and challenges to survive.